Detective Division

About the Detective Division

The Watertown Police Department Detective Division is responsible for all of the follow-up investigations within the police department. The Detective Division consists of the Investigations, Prosecution and Licensing components of the police department. The unit is staffed by a Lieutenant, two Sergeants and seven detectives.

Solving Cases

The Detective Supervisors review the solvability factors of cases and determine which have a probability of being solved and then assign the case to a detective for a follow-up investigation. The detectives also develop many self-initiated cases through their contacts in the community.

The Detective Division follows-up on all major crimes, domestic violence, sexual crimes, narcotics, white collar crimes, and computer related crimes. The division also conducts background investigations for potential Town employees.

Meetings & Training

Detectives attend regional monthly detective meetings where they share information about crimes and crime trends with other local, State and Federal law enforcement agencies.

The Detectives also received and are trained in many specialized field of law enforcement.